top of page

...there is hope. Part 2

The truth of a mother...

(Visit "...there is hope. Part 1." to read the first part of this blog post: the truth of a father.)

"...I don't really know when I stopped thinking about myself and started really listening, but I do know that is exactly what happened. I didn't just listen to the words either, I listened with my heart.

...Grandma was being praised for healing the sick, feeding the hungry, clothing the naked with no money during an economic depression, comforting the lonely, creating beauty, speaking the truth and setting people free. Grandma was praised for her meekness, humility, patience, thriftiness, courage, honor, respectfulness, loving nature, and her charity.

While I listened...a random thought came into my mind. "Can you say these things about the teller at the bank, or the woman defending someone in court?" I couldn't because I didn't really know them as people. I only knew their employment. The only people who could speak for them was their children and grandchildren.

All of a sudden I realized that while careers are good and can do good and are often times necessary, being a parent was the most fulfilling and important. Without good parents, societies parish.

Mothers have power. It's not the kind of power which requires a power suit either. Their power is much more innate, and much harder to acquire than any other power I know. Throughout time people, governments, organizations, and products have attempted to acquire a mother's power to love and nurture. It can't be done. Nothing can replace a mother who knows she has the power to shape and govern society. Nothing can replace the easy way she touches her children's hearts. Nothing can replace her gift to be able to instruct her children with simple words and principles. Nothing can replace mother. Mothers who know, have power... " (Read more)

"My husband and I have four children. Plus, we fostered many difficult children over the years. For 19 years I’ve been an at-home-mom and a homeschooler. I refuel by teaching and playing with my children. What do I refuel from? In my spare time, I’m head of an international organization called, “The Worldwide Organization for Women,” and I’m the CEO of my company, “Teaching Self-Government.” These responsibilities require I do a lot of writing. They also bring many speaking opportunities worldwide, including at the United Nations and the World Congress of Families.

I’m not sharing these facts about my life to brag. Instead, I simply want to prove a vital point about the value and importance of motherhood to me and to the world. Some people think the career part of my bio and speaking at the United Nations are my most important accomplishments, but that simply is false.The most powerful and important part of who I am, and the thing that best allows me to help influence the world in positive ways is my motherhood. That role has had an incredible influence on the meaning and purpose of my life.

[On that] One sunny Mother’s Day, when I was about 15, my negative views of motherhood suddenly changed during a visit to my grandmother’s home. One by one I saw my relatives take turns expressing thanks for the profound influence my grandmother had on their lives and the power she possessed in her community and among her family and friends. When it was my turn to share something about my grandma, my heart had found a truth my mind had been rejecting for years: mothers are more powerful than anyone else in our societies because they change multiple people’s worlds every day. I ended up declaring that I wanted to be just like my grandmother and have a family like she had.

The real meaning and purpose of motherhood hit me hard that day! Mothers and grandmothers are powerful. They form our characters, set the example for happy living, heal our hearts, point the way to happiness and truth, and nurture our identities. All greatness stems back to the hand that formed and taught the great person. Mothers may not all become the great writers, painters, composers or thinkers of the day, but they write, paint and compose on the hearts of the future writers, painters, composers and thinkers.

...There is no greater contribution to the world than creating a good, secure, hard-working person who is willing to sacrifice for the greater good. Mothers do this every day by lovingly raising their children. Mothers either create greatness, or they don’t.

Greatness comes from knowing who you are (& who & what you are given to be, if you so choose it) . Parents teach that; it’s called identity. Loving parents give each of their children an identity in a family setting. They also lead their children to the truth about God, as well as the child’s role in His plan for the world. This in turn creates an identity with God.

...My identity as mother is more important than any other identity or title given to me. The way I spend my time reflects the deep commitment and honor I feel and cherish being a mother." (Read more)

"...Every time I meet one of these women I rejoice. I see a woman like my grandmother and like I want to be. I see a woman who doesn't take her gender or role lightly. I see power. I see strength. I see a better future for all mankind. Can a mother do all this? Oh yes! She has been doing it from the beginning of time. Mothers learn, love and then share those things with all...

...They are completely selfless. They do everything they do for God. No matter how sick they get or how hard life is they keep serving, keep loving and keep doing everything in their power to teach goodness. They are the example to me of what it means to be a woman.

...I wanted to be a mother. And not just any kind of mother either. I wanted to be the kind of mother who changes the world for good. I wanted to be the kind of mother who created an atmosphere for raising greatness. My home needed to be special. It needed to be different from many of the other homes in the world. It needed to be the kind of home which would communicate power to all who enter, and the kind of home which could always have the spirit of love in it. For I knew that if my home was filled with the feeling of love and truth, then my home could raise a generation of children who would transform the world for the better and who would fight for goodness their entire lives.

...There are two sides, goodness and truth, and apathy and complacency. I call the first side greatness and the second side mediocrity. This is the fight and I am doing all I can as a mother to make sure the first side wins. Regular mediocre homes are training a people too, but they don't really know what they are doing. We do. We can be the kind of parents who understand the power of mothers and fathers who deliberately strengthen, lift, love, structure, and communicate." (Read more)

There is hope as long as there is truth. And, this is great, because truth always IS, always was & always will be - such as the truth of a father, of a mother & of a family. These truths are bigger than us, we didn't make them up, they will not go away & they cannot & will not be changed, no matter who or how much someone tries to make it so. They are self-evident, unchanging, eternal truths. And just remember, truth will always bear itself out in the end. Always. We are just given, if we so choose, to learn it & choose it for ourselves. This is where true freedom & real happiness is - for us & our children. Period.

There is hope as long as there is one remaining that is willing & decides; to stop, look & listen; to see, to hear & to choose the truth - no matter how much it requires of them, no matter how "hard" it may seem in the moment, no matter what they may have to give up (our pride, our destructive but "comfortable" or "easy" habits, etc.) in the process.

For, they know, it is worth it all ...and so, so much more.

Dear mothers & fathers, let us have hope.

Let us be courageous, that we may.

Let us choose.

Let us each be that one.

"Calm, confident parents are a voice of truth to their children. Sure, the parents might not be perfect, but their intentions and their hearts will be felt by their offspring. They will create a lifelong impression, even if they don’t see the positive results immediately.

There is hope. Don’t give up. Keep having family meetings and keep correcting your children with love and kindness. They will eventually honor your name and follow your examples." Make it one worthy of this.

Recent   Posts
Archive
No tags yet.
Search  By  Tags
bottom of page