top of page

A gift from almost 18 years ago...

Below is a poem that I was given right before the birth of my first child. I did not appreciate this then, anywhere near as much, as I do now...

How Do I Learn Just Who I Am?

I learn from you who I am.

Within your eyes I see reflected me.

Within your voice I hear how you see me.

You are the mirror that I look into and mold the image of myself.

I sense the way you hold me, and from your touch I feel my form, my shape.

And if I like what I see in your eyes, your voice, your touch – My heart responds and reaches out.

Then in its reaching, grows and grows, until I see myself as separate.

That separate self – in turn – can love you back.

Because you taught me who I am, and I am loved.

By, Ruth Reardon

Recent   Posts
Archive
No tags yet.
Search  By  Tags
bottom of page